Why use dual space in PGA - R*(3,0,1) vs R(3,0,1)

Hi all! I’m just getting into GA from a robotics background and it’s fascinating. My question - why do the common libraries (and PGA cheat sheet) use the dual space formulation? These two works below both introduce homogenous points as 1-vectors, lines as 2-vectors, planes as 3-vectors in three dimensions:

http://www.jaapsuter.com/geometric-algebra.pdf
http://geocalc.clas.asu.edu/pdf-preAdobe8/PGwithCA.pdf

I’ve found this much more intuitive for me and others I discuss with to grasp. For example a point (1,2,3) is 1e1 + 2e2 + 3e3 + e0 instead of trivectors, and the blade dimensionality increases with the thing it represents. Also that a plane is the outer product of three points vs the regressive product. Why is the dual formulation common, and am I going to run into obstacles building up R(3, 0, 1) in a library this way?

1 Like

Hi, @hmartiro. Good to have you here on bivector.net.

It is indeed not immediately obvious from the cheat sheet why R*(3,0,1) is the correct GA for euclidean space. For that I think you might benefit from reading the SIGGRAPH course notes available here.

I’ll just briefly indicate the differences of PGA from the treatments given in the two web sites you referenced in your post:

1. http://www.jaapsuter.com/geometric-algebra.pdf . This appears to be the vector space model. That is, it does not use homogeneous coordinates and hence is designed to deal with euclidean vector space, not euclidean space. It’s not possible in this model as far as I know to directly represent geometric primitives that do not pass through the origin, nor to represent arbitrary rigid motions, only rotations around the origin.