The function measuring the length of a line...isn't a linear function?

Just trying to sort out some foundational issues here, when I noticed something really bizarre.

Say A(v^w) is a function which gives the area of v^w. I’ve reconciled myself to the area being able to be a negative number…and indeed, its desirable because you can do things like A(-v^w0 = -A(v,w), i.e. A is a linear function. All well and good.

But length??

Let L(v) be the function which assigned a length to the vector v. Under the euclidean metric, L(-v) does not equal -L(v).

I can’t believe I’ve been studying geometry for 30 years and never noticed this before. The length of a line…isn’t a linear function? Say what?

However, it seems like a “directed length” should make sense. And for basis vectors, there is an obvious convention: c*e1 has a positive length if cv is a positive scalar.

But what about the vector ce1-ce2? What sign should its length be? I just can’t seem to formulate any function L() which would be linear and would still preserve the intuitions I have about what a length of a vector should be.

SpaceTime Algebra metrics are even more puzzling… The dot product of a vector with itself can be negative…so we have imaginary lengths? And I thought negative area was bizarre. Nevertheless, would it help to formulate a linear function L() for the length if we threw those in?

I can’t sere how, but surely somebody else has thought along these lines—enlightenment would be appreciated!

1 Like

Actually, area is bilinear and not just linear. A(v,w) is linear in both v and w, making it bilinear.

Length of a vector is determined by a quadratic form, so yea it’s not linear. The quadratic equation comes from a bilinear operator, but the way this operates on vectors results in a quadratic polynomial instead of being linear.