Frustum Culling in GA?

Hi. I am new to Geometric Algebra. I have watched a few of the GAME2020 talks, so I know a bit of the terminology. But I don’t have any hands-on experience yet.

I would like to know if it is possible to define a non-infinite volume and check if this volume intersects with another non-infinite volume.

In particular, I would like to check if an axis-aligned bounding box intersects with an OpenGL view frustum. For example, here’s an implementation that uses the separating axis theorem, but that involves quite a bit of work with lots of opportunities for small mistakes. Instead, would it be possible to define this intersection in GA with a meet operation or similar?

Looking at vectors, bivectors and trivectors: Those define oriented lines, areas, volumes. But if I understand it correctly, then those are defined with respect to the origin? I wouldn’t know how to solve my problem this way.

Looking at the 3D PGA cheatsheet: This shows how to define lines and planes (and I assume volumes in 4D), but those are of infinite size? This also doesn’t help me.

I would appreciate some pointers into the right direction.

Thank you
Martin

@Martin
This is an interesting question.
I think that PGA can be of use here.
First, obtain a representation of the planes p_i of the frustum satisfy p_i^2 = 1 (normalized) and p_i \vee O < 0 where O is the “mid-point” of the frustum (intersection of the space diagonals of the frustum, any interior point of the frustum will serve the same purpose). Hence a normalized point P satisfying p_i \vee P > 0 for any i lies outside the frustum. (Note: using the regressive operator \vee here produces a scalar directly, thereby avoiding having to extract the magnitude of the pseudoscalar p_i \wedge P. This trick is based on the identity (p \vee P)\mathbf{I} = p \wedge P for a plane p and a point P.)