Expression Evaluator in https://bivector.net/tools.html for Scalars

Hi All,

I’m new to GA and learning GA by trying to implement the support for Swift Programming language for the same. I’m using the expression evaluator BiVector.net as a way to evaluate my implementations. I’m having tough time in understanding what should be the correct answers when we try to find inner and outer product of 2 scalars

11 | 12 → Gives 15 (Inner product) // I was expecting similar result as 1112 = 132
11 | 11 → Gives 11. (Inner product) // I was expecting 11
11 = 121

11 ^ 12 → Gives 7 (Outer product). // I was expecting zero here
11 ^ 11 → Gives 0 (Outer product). // This matches my expectation as zero

I’m not finding proper resource on how the Geometric products inner and outer products to behave for scalars? Or it is a bug in the tool? Any inputs will be helpful.

Thanks,
SantMan

You can try using Grassmann.jl as an evaluator instead, it has a consistent implementation for scalars: GitHub - chakravala/Grassmann.jl: ⟨Leibniz-Grassmann-Clifford⟩ differential geometric algebra / multivector simplicial complex

Those should all behave like regular scalar multiplication, I have also previously given an explanation for the exterior product of scalars Exterior product of grade zero blades

1 Like

Thank you @chakravala

For scalars, the tool interprets the expression in the usual Boolean manner. That is of course unfortunate. But indeed, for scalars the inner product is the lowest grade of the GP, and thus the regular scalar product; and for outer product the highest grade term - which is also the usual producr.
Avoid the beginners mistake of thinking that any geometric product is the sum of inner and outer…

Leo

1 Like